Iowa Wing News

your source for all that is CAP in Iowa

Archive for December 2010

Erickson Named Commander of Local Civil Air Patrol Squadron During Annual Holiday Party

leave a comment »

RED OAK, Ia. – Lt Jason Erickson assumed command December 14th of the Civil Air Patrol’s Southwest Iowa Composite Squadron.

Erickson, the squadron’s former deputy commander, now adds the title of commander to his vast list of accomplishments.  Since joining the Civil Air Patrol (CAP) in June 2008, Erickson has held various leadership and administrative roles within the group that, at the time, was a “sister squadron” under the guidance of the 072nd Des Moines Metro Cadet Squadron.  With the official chartering of the Southwest Iowa Composite Squadron on December 2, 2010, Erickson is now poised to lead the group of cadets and senior members into a host of new opportunities.

In addition to the change of command ceremony held on December 14th at the Red Oak Airport, members and their families gathered to celebrate another year with food, camaraderie and squadron awards recognizing the many accomplishments of the past year. 

The following individuals recently earned promotions:

  • Cadet Katie Flora of Pacific Junction, IA – Cadet Airman First Class (C/A1C)
  • Senior member Tim Redd of Red Oak, IA – Second Lieutenant (2Lt).

The following squadron awards for the 2010 year were presented:

  • Outstanding Physical Fitness Award – Cadet Logan Taylor of Villisca, IA
  • Best Uniform Award – Cadet Josh Salvato of Red Oak, IA
  • Most Improved Award – Cadet William Griffey of Red Oak, IA
  • Cadet Airman of the Year – Cadet Katie Flora of Pacific Junction, IA
  • Cadet Non-Commissioned Officer (NCO) of the Year – Cadet Josh Salvato of Red Oak, IA
  • Senior Member of the Year – 1Lt Jessa Brace of Walnut, IA
  • Air Force Association (AFA) Outstanding Cadet of the Year – Cadet Josh Salvato of Red Oak, IA

As a part of the cadet change of command ceremony, outgoing cadet commander Kaleb White received a special plaque commemorating his year of service. 

At the conclusion of the change of command ceremony, Lt Col Allen Chilcote of Oskaloosa, IA was presented with a special plaque in deep appreciation for his leadership and guidance during the past two years.

Written by Southwest Iowa Composite Squadron

December 20, 2010 at 9:08 am

Senior Member Awards: November 2010

leave a comment »

Grover Loening Award

•1st Lt. Jessa M. Brace, IA
•1st Lt. Jason Steven Erickson, IA
•Maj. Bradley H. Oglesby, IA

For a complete listing of all awards, click here

Written by Iowa Wing CAP

December 6, 2010 at 11:53 am

Posted in IACAP - Awards

Southwest Iowa Composite Squadron Celebrates New Charter

leave a comment »

The Southwest Iowa Composite Squadron of the Civil Air Patrol (CAP), after a brief hiatus, recently received their new squadron charter on December 2, 2010.  Based in Red Oak, IA, the CAP group has existed since the early 40s with a few short periods of inactivity.  The most recent resurgence came about in June 2008 with help from three local senior members, two cadets and a host of additional CAP mentors from around the state of Iowa. 


Celebrating their new charter, the group will be hosting a change of command ceremony on Tuesday December 14th.  The public is invited to attend the ceremony from 6-6:30pm where First Lieutenant (1Lt) Jason Erickson will assume command of the Phoenix Squadron, so dubbed as such by its members as they prepare to rise again to serve their communities, state, and nation.


Formed on December 1, 1941, CAP performs more than 90 percent of all U.S. Air Force directed search and rescue and performs missions for NASA, FEMA, the DEA and other emergency and community organizations.


Read the rest of this entry »

Written by Southwest Iowa Composite Squadron

December 3, 2010 at 12:28 pm