Iowa Wing News

your source for all that is CAP in Iowa

Iowa Members Gather to Learn, Lead and Celebrate

leave a comment »

Capt Jessa Erickson
Public Affairs Officer
Iowa Wing

The 2012 Iowa Wing Conference was held October 12-14, 2012 at Camp Dodge in Johnston, IA.  The weekend, which featured 24 learning lab sessions, Drug Demand Reduction (DDR) activities, a Cadet Advisory Council (CAC) meeting and awards banquet, was attended by roughly 100 members from Iowa and surrounding wings including non-CAP family members and other special guests.

The event kicked off on Friday evening with an informal social gathering and DDR activity hosted by the Iowa Wing DDR Officer Capt Jan Lewandowski and North Central Region (NCR) DDR Officer Lt Col Bonnie Braun.  Educational and information materials were on hand for members to look through with a special emphasis on Red Ribbon Week, and cadets were encouraged to participate in creating an anti-drug themed diorama which was then judged the following morning by Iowa Wing Commander Col Ron Scheitzach and NCR Commander Col Robert Todd.  Four awards were handed out: 1st Place – C/2d Lt Jacob Lewandowski, 2nd Place – C/MSgt Luke Lewandowski, 3rd Place – C/CMSgt Austin Lightner and Honorable Mention – Anna Lewandowski.

The general assembly led off Saturday’s events highlighting the state of the Iowa Wing and featured three special guests of the weekend; NCR Commander Col Robert Todd, North Central Liaison Commander Lt Col Paul Peterson and retired Air Force Chief Master Sergeant (CMSgt) Robert Dandridge as well as each of the nine Iowa Wing Squadron Commanders, or their representatives, who gave a short message on the state of their squadrons.  To cap off the morning assembly, a few special awards were presented to deserving members and Cadet Luke Hohenberger was presented his promotion to the rank of Cadet Chief Master Sergeant by Col Scheitzach and CMSgt Dandridge.

Saturday’s main event, the learning lab sessions, were divided into three tracks with eight sessions each and were conducted with the help of approximately thirty knowledgeable Iowa Wing senior members and cadets.  Topics ranging from Color Guard, Professional Development and Aerospace Education to Ground Team, Cadet Support Structures, Uniforms and Mission Base Staff were covered and provided many members with a new perspective on CAPs missions and how integral each member is to CAPs success.

With a special emphasis on cadet participation this year, the Iowa Wing Cadet Advisory Council (CAC) was invited to participate in the planning process and secure the cadet track session instructors as well as conduct their CAC meeting and annual election of CAC officers.  The 2012-2013 Iowa Wing CAC officers elected include Iowa Wing Chair C/Capt Katelyn Mishmash from the East Iowa Cadet Squadron and Iowa Wing Vice Chair C/CMSgt Devyn Phelps from the Burlington Composite Squadron.

The day’s events were capped off by the annual banquet and awards ceremony featuring guest speaker CMSgt Robert Dandridge.  An advocate for CAP and retired Air Force Command Chief, CMSgt Dandridge wowed the crowd with his intense enthusiasm and relatable story featuring a package of Oreos and a newspaper.

2011 Awards Recipients

  • 20-Year Member Award – Lt Col Susan Chilcote
  • Achievement Awards – Capt Jan Lewandowski, 1st Lt Ron Mutchler, 1st Lt Richard Couch, 1st Lt Harris Bockoven, 1st Lt Justin Sawyer, 1st Lt Anna Klees, C/Lt Col Adam Wachholz, C/Col Adam Waccholz, C/1st Lt Kaitlyn Mishmash, C/CMSgt Jacob Lewandowski, C/SrA Luke Hohenberger and C/Amn Braden Bean
  • Commander’s Commendations – Col Joe Casler, Col Sheila Waldorf, Lt Col Bill Mausser, Lt Col Phillip Patterson, Lt Col Don Hahn, CH Maj Ralph Cole Sr, Maj Stephen Gara, Maj Joe Murphy, Maj Jon Sawyer, Maj Casey Schroeder, Maj Leo Bertling, Maj James Currie, Maj Roger Elliott, Capt Brian Mishmash, Capt Cindi Wachholz, Capt Kim Kirschman, Capt Ed Spoelstra, Capt Jay Newell, Capt Jason Erickson, Capt Wayne Harrah, Capt Pam Lehman, Capt John Ellis, Capt Rick Lewis, Capt Kern Kemp, 1st Lt Allen Thomas, 1st Lt Terry Kruse, 1st Lt Jo Weston, 1st Lt Chuck Brudtkuhl, 1st Lt Jessa Erickson, 1st Lt James Wachholz, 1st Lt Jean Napp, 1st Lt Gregory Crawford, 1st Lt James Pitts, 2d Lt Jerry Atkins, 2d Lt Michael Healy, C/Capt Jacob Napp and C/CMSgt Roy Schindler
  • 2011 Senior Member of the Year – Col Joe Casler
  • 2011 Cadet NCO of the Year – C/CMSgt Roy Schindler
  • 2011 Cadet of the Year – C/Maj Jacob Napp
  • 2011 Squadron of the Year – Northwest Iowa Composite Squadron
  • 2011 Ground Team of the Year – Northwest Iowa Composite Squadron
  • 2011 Safety Officer of the Year – 2d Lt Jerry Atkins
  • 2011 Wing Staff Member of the Year– Maj Leo Bertling
  • 2011 Squadron PAO of the Year – Capt Jessa Erickson
  • 2011 Wing PAO of the Year – Capt Jessa Erickson
  • 2011 Incident Command Staff Member of the Year – Col Joe Casler
  • 2011 Cadet Programs Officer of the Year – 1st Lt Jean Napp
  • 2011 Character Development Instructor of the Year – Capt Jim Wachholz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: